top of page

Media Innovation week 2 - digital art

The second week of my module we looked at digital art, for my product ideas I went through several app and website ideas; an art curation website for artists, a keyboard extension on mobile devices that would allow users to turn renaissance paintings into memes, or a website that turns user's photos into a paint by numbers picture for children to colour in either online or printed out.

Ultimately after conducting some research, I found there was already loads of websites that allow people to turn their own photos into paint by numbers, or puzzles, etc - therefore I felt there wasn't a gap in the market. However, I noticed The second week of my module we looked at digital art, for my product ideas I went through several app and website ideas; an art curation website for artists, a keyboard extension on mobile devices that would allow users to turn renaissance paintings into memes, or a website that turns user's photos into a paint by numbers picture for children to colour in either online or printed out. Ultimately after conducting some research, I found there was already loads of websites that allow people to turn their own photos into paint by numbers, or puzzles, etc - therefore I felt there wasn't a gap in the market. However, I noticed there wasn’t any meme creating apps that allow the images generated to be used as a keyboard extension like emoji’s or bitmoji’s that are updated regularly, therefore become outdated from the overused images, or that allow user to edit and upload their own images .

My app would allow people to choose from a range of images that are currently popular, and allow people to load their own images, to create their own memes/images which could then be turned into a sticker to be used in messages. I think this would be popular with teenagers/tween, particularly those aged 10-16 years old as they are most likely to send stickers in a text or iMessage. In the inital stages the app would only be available on Apple/iOS devices to gage levels of interest before developing it for Android devices.

To create this app I'd need skills beyond CSS, Javascript and HTML - as the app also functions as a keyboard extension. Therefore, I'd need to learn to use UIKit which handles text handling on iOS devices; Xcode, Apple's software to create apps, also creators to build apps and sticks with no coding as you turn the images into a sticker pack and submit them to the app store for iMessage. This makes the process a lot easier as users will still be able to add text and emojis to the sticker on my app, allowing them to upload their own issues is a matter of CSS, HTML and Javascript rather than Xcode.

Phonegap is a good smartphone platform that allows creators to make basic app which can be developed further through Xcode and additional CSS or HTML work, as it is a cross platform development process. HTML5 applications also do the same job, but is more suitable for web pages rather than apps.


bottom of page